The Strategic Alignment of IBITGQ’s DORA and ISO 22301 Qualifications

The Digital Operational Resilience Act (DORA), which comes into effect on 17 January 2025, represents a landmark change in European regulatory requirements for financial institutions and their ICT service providers. DORA necessitates robust frameworks for ICT risk management, incident response, testing and third-party vendor oversight. Organisations within DORA’s scope must prioritise compliance to mitigate severe operational and financial repercussions.

ISO 22301, the international standard for a business continuity management system (BCMS), presents a structured approach to safeguarding organisational resilience. An ISO 22301-compliant BCMS fosters preparedness in the face of disruptions, empowering the swift restoration of critical functions.

DORA and ISO 22301 harmoniously enhance an organisation’s ability to withstand digital setbacks and maintain core business operations. IBITGQ’s portfolio of DORA and ISO 22301 qualifications provides a clear path for professionals to achieve industry-leading expertise in both domains.

IBITGQ’s DORA and ISO 22301 BCMS qualifications

To support compliance efforts and operational resilience, IBITGQ offers specialised professional qualifications within the DORA and ISO 22301 BCMS areas:

DORA qualifications

Certified DORA Foundation: Provides a firm foundation in the principles, practices and requirements of DORA compliance.

Certified DORA Practitioner: Delves into DORA’s integration with existing financial regulatory frameworks, optimising governance and risk management processes.

Certified DORA Lead Auditor: Cultivates the in-depth knowledge necessary to perform rigorous DORA compliance audits.

Certified DORA Compliance Officer: Emphasises aligning operational structures with DORA resilience requirements, defining effective strategies for regulatory adherence.

Certified DORA Risk Director: Teaches professionals how to implement DORA for IT resilience. Covers legal aspects, risk management, vendor oversight and regulator interactions. This qualification also explores emerging security threats and DORA’s wider impact.

ISO 22301 BCMS qualifications

ISO 22301 Certified BCMS Foundation: Introduces essential concepts, core requirements and overall benefits of the ISO 22301:2019 BCMS standard.

ISO 22301 Certified BCMS Lead Implementer: Equips professionals with the techniques to implement a BCMS that adheres to ISO 22301 guidelines seamlessly.

ISO 22301 Certified BCMS Lead Auditor: Prepares practitioners to conduct systematic audits and ensure optimal alignment with ISO 22301.

The competitive advantage of combined expertise

DORA qualifications solidify understanding of compliance obligations, and ISO 22301 qualifications provide practical implementation pathways. Specific pairings include the following:

Certified DORA Foundation and ISO 22301 Certified BCMS Foundation: Get critical insight into DORA’s regulatory context alongside a core understanding of BCMS methodologies.

Certified DORA Practitioner and ISO 22301 Certified BCMS Lead Implementer: Integrate DORA’s requirements into risk management practices (Practitioner) and leverage standardised implementation strategies (Lead Implementer).

Certified DORA Lead Auditor and ISO 22301 Certified BCMS Lead Auditor: Develop expertise in ensuring thorough DORA compliance and assessing alignment of a BCMS to globally recognised standards.

Certified DORA Compliance Officer and ISO 22301 BCMS: Master strategies for achieving DORA compliance, alongside an in-depth understanding of critical business continuity plan development.

Certified DORA Risk Director and ISO 22301 BCMS (senior management focus): Strengthen strategic decision-making, as DORA demands executive ICT risk oversight. Complement this with ISO 22301 knowledge, cultivating a leadership adept in resilience measures.

Driving growth through resilience

IBITGQ’s DORA and ISO 22301 BCMS qualifications offer an invaluable combination of regulatory preparedness and practical resilience strategies. Professionals pursuing these qualifications demonstrate ambition and adaptability in the face of evolving digital risks. This dedication benefits individuals and organisations, ultimately fostering growth within a secure and robust digital landscape.

Choose your IBITGQ certification pathway

To earn one or more IBITGQ certifications, three paths are available. Participate in a comprehensive training programme delivered by an Accredited Training Organisation (ATO) that includes examination preparation. You may also purchase an examination voucher from an ATO, which is valid for a specific period. Or directly book an examination through an IBITGQ examination provider.