Navigating the Update to ISO 27001: Benefits of the IBITGQ Transition Qualification

The information security landscape is constantly evolving, demanding a skilled workforce equipped to manage and mitigate emerging threats. ISO (International Organization for Standardization) regularly updates its standards to reflect these changes, and the latest version of ISO 27001, the leading standard for an ISMS (information security management system), is no exception.

This article explores the implications of the ISO 27001 transition period for professionals and organisations, highlighting the benefits of IBITGQ’s ISO 27001 Transition certificate. We’ll delve into the qualification’s content, who should consider obtaining it, and how to secure this valuable credential.

ISO 27001 transition: A time for change

The publication of ISO 27001:2022 in October 2022 marked the beginning of a three-year transition period for organisations certified under the previous version (ISO 27001:2013). By October 2025, all certified organisations must have transitioned their ISMS to comply with ISO 27001:2022. This transition necessitates adjusting existing information security practices to align with the Standard’s revised requirements.

What does this mean for professionals?

Professionals holding ISO 27001:2013 qualifications must update their knowledge and skills to remain relevant in the evolving information security environment. While the core principles of information security management remain constant, ISO 27001:2022 introduces specific changes, including the following:

  • Revised clause structure: The Standard adopts a high-level structure used across various ISO management system standards, promoting greater coherence and integration with other management systems.
  • Annex A updates: The list of controls for information security risks has been revised with new controls and a streamlined structure.
  • Focus on context: The Standard emphasises the importance of understanding the organisation’s context when implementing information security controls.

Benefits of the IBITGQ ISO 27001 Transition qualification

IBITGQ’s ISO 27001 Transition qualification offers a streamlined and cost-effective solution for professionals holding ISO 27001:2013 qualifications. Here’s why this qualification stands out:

  • Efficient: The qualification focuses on the core changes introduced in ISO 27001:2022, allowing professionals to bridge the knowledge gap without starting from scratch. This translates to substantial time and resource savings.
  • Consolidated updates: Those holding multiple ISO 27001:2013 qualifications can update them all through a single exam, significantly reducing the time and cost involved in refreshing their credentials.
  • Open to other certifications: The qualification is not limited to those holding IBITGQ qualifications. Professionals with ISO 27001:2013 certifications from other accredited bodies can also use this pathway to update their knowledge.

What does the Transition qualification cover?

The IBITGQ ISO 27001 Transition qualification focuses on the key areas of change introduced in ISO 27001:2022, equipping professionals with the necessary knowledge to:

  • Navigate the transition process: Understand the steps involved in transitioning an ISMS from ISO 27001:2013 to ISO 27001:2022.
  • Master the revised clauses: Grasp the changes in the Standard’s structure and terminology.
  • Apply the updated controls: Understand and implement the revised controls outlined in Annex A.
  • Integrate with ISO 27002:2022: Comprehend the revised approach and structure of ISO 27002:2022, which provides guidance on information security controls.
  • Use ISO 27005:2022: Learn how this standard complements ISO 27001 by providing guidance on information security risk management.

Who should obtain the IBITGQ Transition qualification?

This qualification is particularly valuable for professionals holding any of the following ISO 27001:2013 qualifications:

  • ISO 27001 Certified ISMS Lead Implementer (CIS LI)
  • ISO 27001 Certified ISMS Lead Auditor (CIS LA)
  • ISO 27001 Certified ISMS Internal Auditor (CIS IA)

Professionals with equivalent qualifications from other accredited bodies, such as BSI, PECB, CQI/IRCA or APMG, can also benefit from this qualification.